a sense of guilt

Octopus98

Hi, I am a female college student, currently surrounded by people who are either dating or thinking of dating which sometimes gets stressful.

I identify as an asexual person, and I also think that I might be somewhere on the aromantic spectrum.

My problem is, I feel that most of the people assume that I am straight. That is because to this day I have not made a coming out, as I do not feel a need to do it. However, I have been always (for around 10 years or so) saying that I do not want to pursue any relationship, get married and have kids. I've seen that some people eventually realize that I am ace, some do not. I simply do not talk about my asexuality if I do not have to (e.g. when my friend asked me once whether I am ace, I confirmed and did not feel bad about admitting it).

The problem is, I have recently observed that I experience a sense of guilt when I meet a nice guy, we "click", continue talking and then keep in touch. I feel guilty because I am afraid of sending a false signal that I am sexually interested in him, while I just wanna be friends.