Job Searching While Trans

nerdperson777

nerdperson777

So I graduated college almost two months ago and I've been looking for jobs. I've been applying for jobs as my chosen name. Upon leaking out to my mom that I was using this name, she freaked out. She said that I wasn't using my "real name" and people will stop trusting me because of it. People will discriminate against me. I retorted back that the only people who aren't discriminated against are white men. After all that she kept bringing my job search back up and stuff regarding my name when I didn't want her involved in my search. She's been a helicopter mom all my life and must know everything. I want to put a stop to it. I live in California so it should be okay that I use my chosen name. My mom came to America as an immigrant so she should know what's it like to have another name, even if she had her English name since she was young, having lived in a British colony with lots of British influence. I believe her English name is from an English musical. So I see no problem with me using my chosen name. 

Another thing is that I went to a hiring event by Amazon. I had set up an appointment with my chosen name. When I got there, I had to sign in and show my legal documents. The people were totally fine with it. Further down the process after filling out forms on their computers, I talked to someone for the next part. They were fine with my different name but I was asked if or when I would legally change my name. It sounded like my different name was a burden to go through in the future. All future employers would have to be notified about this name and legally changing would make it less troublesome. I get that practically it is a problem but does that worker have to ask about it? 

I'm definitively not qualified to answer this but I just wanted to say that I hope things work out for you. You have my support for this situation you're going through :cake: 

It's not exactly about the same thing, but.