Montreal Gazette article about Asexuality; mentions AVEN!

Shadow

No Sex, Please

(Montreal Gazette, Montreal, Canada. May 9, 2005)

I was surprised and excited to see this in-depth article in Montreal's main English-language newspaper. It even talks about AVEN!

Great article -- thanks for posting it!

"Asexuality is the hottest topic around these days"? Cool! :D

They keep mentioning 'young people' but its not all about young people.

Now I'll copy and paste cause that's what I do...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

No sex, please

A growing number of young people are identifying themselves as asexual - not interested in physical relationships - even though the world around them is charged with sexual imagery

DONNA NEBENZAHL

The Gazette

Monday, May 09, 2005

It was just over a year ago, when talking to a friend studying Zen Buddhism, that Lindsay Loytchenko found the word to describe her feelings about sex.

"I thought I was repressed, but then I started learning about asexuality and Zen Buddhism and I saw that was me," says the 17-year-old CEGEP student.

Ever since she can remember, Loytchenko has had better things to do with her life than get physical with someone.

"I've always been really happy that I'm the only 17-year-old in my group of friends who's not a total slave to hormones," said the outspoken teen. "I just have no desire. I've been asked out, people have offered to start casual relationships, but I don't feel it would be beneficial to me.

"It doesn't sound fun and interesting; it sounds boring and a little gross."

Asexuality is the hottest topic around these days, says writer Elizabeth Abbott, an expert on celibacy. Ever since a New Scientist story last fall about the growing numbers of young people who are "coming out" about their lack of sexual interest, the University of Toronto research associate has been questioned on the topic by the likes of the New York Times and Elle Quebec.