Are humans really that sexually dimorphic?

ace_k

Sexual dimorphism is the differences between males and females of the same species.

I recently went on an art tour focusing on women's paintings. The docent asked if "it was possible" that a man painted the painting made by a woman. I thought of course, everyone is different. But apparently it is NOT POSSIBLE. Men CAN'T think that way.

For me, my gender really isn't a huge issue. I know that men and women are very different, but we're all human and are all capable of the same artistic creations. I am not an artist or anything (my circles look like triangles) but is gender really that limiting in creating art?

I was just wondering what other people thought.

Reader of Strange Books

I've been reading a book called "Between XX ad XY, Intersexuality and the Myth of Two Sexes" by Gerald N. Callahan, Ph.D., which talks about that very issue. Yes, I know, I read strange books. It's quite interesting, and it gives a whole new dimension to this whole marriage is between one man and one woman debate. Because how do you define a man and how do you define a woman? He doesn't say anything about asexuality as an orientation, just as a means of reproduction, though.

Anyway, according to Callahan, we are all on a spectrum. There are people who physically appear to be one sex but genetically are not. If two X's make a female and one Y makes a male, then what about XXY people? I knew about intersex or hermaphrodite animals because we occasionally get one in the laboratory where I work, and what applies to animals is often the case with people, but I was astounded at the range of genetic combinations involving X and Y. So what is male and what is female?