New member with a question for romantics

UltraViolet

UltraViolet

Hi all - newbie here with a question for romantic asexuals. Have any of you ever found a mutual love relationship that was truly sex free (not just "trying-to-get-out-of-it-for-as-long-as-possible" or "putting-up-with-a-little-so-they'll-stay-around")? Every time I tell them I have no interest in sex many men still think that THEY will be the one to change me - the old "Oh, but you'll like it with me " scenario. Can men ever be truly in love (and STAY in love) without sex?

Short answer: Yes, but ...

There have been several marriages (that I know about) between AVEN members, so it definitely isn't impossible.

At least one more is impending. (You first heard about it HERE, folks!)

It isn't easy to find such asexual partners, though.

The one thing that all of the now-married AVEN members have in common is that they post/posted a lot, are/were willing to publicly share some deeper aspects of their personal lives, and are/were very involved in the community. I think that level of openness allowed others to get to know them more as "real" people and it eventually helped to lead to their success in finding partners. Willingness to travel is also a big factor. The odds against finding a LOCAL asexual partner who is also compatible in other ways are, unfortunately, still extremely steep.

-GB

UltraViolet
Short answer: Yes, but ...

There have been several marriages (that I know about) between AVEN members, so it definitely isn't impossible.

At least one more is impending. (You first heard about it HERE, folks!)

It isn't easy to find such asexual partners, though.