Are Xenogenders valid gender identities?

Hello! I am currently in my 3rd year of writing a new type of educational LGBTQIA+ book aiming to help people achieve a better understanding of the community through stories and other writing. If you want to contribute here is a link: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeKCCb0pNZKmtb5gTcRli14IVdWkXFDHM8UqMw7Ajw2KDYxBg/viewform

I'm making this post to ask some questions about Xenogenders, and if whether or not they are valid. My goal is not to offend anyone who identifies under a Xenogender label, I am just trying to understand them. From what I understand, Xenogenders are hyperspecific genders that describe someone's gender in a way that is outside of human understanding.

That's why it's called Xenogender, because Xeno describes alien. I can slightly understand this label, however, when I hear terms such as Cloudgender meaning a gender like a cloud, or Treegender, meaning a gender like a tree, then that's where I get kind of lost, and start to question whether or not these identies are valid. I am aware that currently many terms are being coined to mock the LGBTQIA+ community, but I'm pretty sure that's not the case for Xenogenders, but that doesn't aurtomatically mean they are valid. So if someone can help me understand that would be much appreicated!

Again, I am not trying to offend anyone, just trying to understand, because I need to know how to adress this in the book I am currently compiling. Thank you.

Just a thought... maybe you should add a poll. Some people may want to answer your question without debating the topic.

• Like 1