visibility game idea

weird elf

Something just gave me an idea I'd like to run past you guys.

Background: I'm a teacher. Our school is about to go into early spring break for pandemic reasons and heaven knows when we'll be allowed to open again ... I've been asked to co-teach a sex ed class (6th grade) following a chat about rainbow topics with a bunch of kids from said class, whenever they let us open back up I'll do just that. One 8th grade teacher has requested I come visit her class to talk about rainbow topics with her students.

I've also been dreaming about starting a diversity group / club / thingy for rainbow-spectrum kids and allies (both to raise awareness and to give closeted kids a chance to drop by without needing to come out), that provides further education, a safe space to talk about all things gender and orientation, help with coming out, help dealing with unsupportive parents etc.

In order to include more identities and orientations than "gay / straight" and "cis / trans", I had the idea of a "hide a flag" game. It would go something like this:

Depending on the number of kids in the class, either each of them or a group of them pick a flag that represents an identity and hides it somewhere in the school grounds (or the building, depending). The other kids don't know which ones have been hidden. Then everyone swarms out to try and find as many flags as possible and bring them back to the classroom where there'll be further info on each one; in order to score a point, they need to not only have the flag, but know what it represents. Quite possibly I'd have them hide one bigger flag (laminated sheet, probably) and print a sheet of smaller, tear-off ones.

What do y'all think? Could that work?

We're talking about sixth graders? When I was that age the possibility to win a prize for winning the game would have worked wonders in my class. How about some sweets?