My husband of 15 years recently came out as asexual and Aromantic

Just Breathe

Although it explains a lot and relieves some of the worry that I am simply undesirable, I'm not sure where to go from here.  We are simply friends and house mates.  We have our own rooms and he is totally uninterested in any sort of compromise or attempt at intimacy of any form even for my benefit.  It might seem selfish on my part but it makes me feel like I am the only one sacrificing and conforming to keep him happy and not cause him stress. In turn it is causing me plenty.  I've tried discussing it but he simply has the attitude that it would be silly to do something he isn't interested in and in all honesty, if he isn't interested, it would not be enjoyable. 

If anyone else is going through a similar situation and has advice it would be appreciated.  I'm new to this and lost. 

Thanks in advance 

The Ivory Witch

That sounds hard, and I'm sure it's not easy for him either. While I don't have any experience with such a situation, I do hope you can find a way to be happy anyway. And if it doesn't work out I don't think it will be the end of the world or anything, maybe he would be open to compromise in the future, but given how long you have been married (and I'm assuming you haven't really been intimate in that way much, if at all) it might not be something he would be comfortable with. What is important is that you talk about it, try to make him see your side of it, but also respect what he wants.

• Like 3

I understand much of what you are feeling.   Honest, answer is its tough.  You probably have a lot of different trains of thought at the moment.   Start by building on the positive, you can stop worrying about being undesirable, or said positively,  you are desirable.  Personally,  understanding this eventually gave me the confidence to move forward,  I didn't realize how damaging that had become to my self worth.