I don't know if I'm asexual or I've been lying to myself

Per Aspera Ad Astra

Per Aspera Ad Astra

Hey,

I've been identifying as ace since 2014. I was 20 at times. I don't quite remember how I came to find out about asexuality, but when I finally did, it made sense. It was like something clicked. I felt more whole, more complete, not as broken. After a while, I felt comfortable enough to be open about it, and I wasn't afraid to come out to anyone if the subject of sexuality came up.

But for the past year, I've been doubting myself. I've suffered from severe treatment resistant depression for most of my life (I was already showing signs of depression as a very young child, though I wasn't clinically diagnosed until I went to a psychiatrist in 2015). I also suffer from C-PTSD due to some pretty severe emotional abuse, and some physical abuse, throughout most of my life.

All of this has led me to have an extremely hard time letting myself be vulnerable. Even with my psychiatrist and therapist, I cannot let myself be vulnerable. I cannot even tell them about my issue about vulnerability, because that in itself would make me vulnerable. No matter how hard I try, it's like there's something that's physically keeping the words from coming out of my mouth.

As a result of my issues with vulnerability, I also don't let people touch me. I don't like people being physically close to me. I don't like being touched, having my hands held, being cuddled. I would love to like it, but it scares me. I don't go to the doctors unless I'm so sick I can barely stand up because I'm afraid to be vulnerable.

And, sex, well... You're pretty vulnerable during sex. And it's terrifying. So I don't know anymore. I don't know if I'm actually asexual, or if I'm so afraid of being vulnerable that I've completely cut myself off from any emotions or attraction. I have the exact same issue with romantic attraction. And if I'm not asexual, what I am then? Where do I go from here?