Uncertain about my future as an aro/ace person

fiji_water

I'm currently a university student and I'll be graduating in a few years. I feel more uncertain the closer I get to graduating, I know that it's still a few years away but it's still been on my mind recently. As an asexual and aromantic person I feel like I have no "ending" for myself, if that makes any sense. I feel like the only life goal/life path that's been presented to me as an option is marriage or partnership and I don't really want either of those things. I have a plan for myself and my career and everything, but I still feel like I'm heading into completely unknown territory because their is no path laid out for someone like me. Of course I have friends who I can rely on, but as they graduate a lot of them will end up finding partners and settling down, and of course we all know that people put platonic relationships aside for romantic ones so I will probably be left alone. I don't think my future is bleak, but it feels like I'm heading into a dark tunnel and I don't really know what a happy ending could look like an aro/ace person.

As someone who is well past the college stage, there is much to look forward to! Even if your friends are going in a different direction, you can still maintain close relationships. You can see what they're going through, and maybe feel more assured that it's not what you personally want to do. Some people who have families still want to have separate friendships to help keep them balanced. You may also find friends who don't want marriage and/or kids. There are a lot of people out there who have taken a different path; if you get to know them, you can get a clearer picture of your own path.