Thesis Help

j_beth

Hello all, 

I hope this is the right place to post this. I am currently a social work graduate student and I am wanting to pursue a thesis. I would really like to focus on asexuality.  I know I haven't been very involved in the ACE community, and I wanted to receive some feedback or guidance about my research ideas. I have been looking at the existing literature and here are some of the rough ideas I've discussed with my supervisor. 

• Experiences of ACE individuals coming out. 
  • Experiences of ACE individuals seeking LGBTQ+ supports. 
  • Experiences of ACE individuals in relationships. 
  • Exploring adverse childhood reactions for ACE individuals. (I was reading a lot of articles on the LGBTQ+ population that looked at this. I'm hesitant to pursue this topic for ACE though as I don't want it seem that I'm dismissing ACE as an orientation). 

Any help, guidance, and feedback would be greatly appreciated. I really do want to bring more awareness and understanding to the ACE community. 

Hello!

Im also interested in pursuing social work in my graduate studies so Im happy to help out! Although, Im only 19 so I don’t exactly have much life experience but I’ll answer to the best of my abilities.

For the most part I have come out to my friends and my siblings, the reaction has been pretty supportive which I am happy about, although my older brother still thinks Im a bit too young to know if I am asexual or not but Im pretty sure I am in some form. I technically haven’t come out to my parents but its not really because I think they’d be unsupportive because they were supportive of me figuring out my sexuality beforehand when I thought I was bisexual or a lesbian, but more so that they wouldn’t really understand it and I think it would be weird to explain it to them. I might come out to them eventually though.