Confusion about Romantic/Platonic Differences and Possible Aromanticism

HurricaneK

Hi, all! I'm fairly new to AVEN, and I recently realized that I am asexual when I began realizing that I've always viewed people and sex differently from my peers. However, I'm wondering whether I'm aromantic as well, because I've never been romantically attracted to someone - that I know of. I've been reading to try and distinguish between romantic and platonic attraction, and the "warmth in chest and desire spend time with them" definition of romantic attraction that I keep coming across sounds more like how I see my closest friends, which is obviously only platonic. Is there some other defining factor that really distinguishes platonic attraction from romantic attraction that I haven't come across? I'm wondering about what exactly differentiates the feeling of romantic attraction from that platonic warmth/affection toward close friends, because from what I've read there doesn't seem to be much difference, and I feel like I'm missing something there - obviously, there's the desire to be with the romantic interest, but how do you even know you want to date them and not just hang out as friends? Sorry if this sounds super dumb, I'm just super unclear on all this as I'm trying to figure out what I have/haven't experienced and what that means for me!