Atheist in a God-based Religion

GingerRose

Is it possible, or has anyone tried it~ to be an atheist in a religion that was created on the basis of having a God?

I think about this because as i am studying syncretism of religion and finding my own spiritual path I find that though I have stopped believing in deities, I still connect to other celebrations, features, or morals of a religion, but without the God part. Example: connecting to Ramadan and meditation of art forms, but not believing in Allah within Islam or Sufism.

2 minutes ago, sallimae76 said:

This explains me.

What religion were you part of or you are part of?

I think it's a contradiction by definition to be atheist in a religion.

Why not just say you're spiritual and ditch religion? Then you can be however you want :P

Judaism has something known as Secular Judaism which is all the Jewish culture (holidays, diets, language, etc.) but without the theistic beliefs or the idea that the Jewish people are chosen and it also doesn't recognize the Hebrew Bible as divine but instead as more of a historical or cultural background. Secular Jews will still celebrate the holidays, some even remain kosher, and they might even still wear Jewish garments still (like tzitzit/tassels) all as cultural identifiers instead of religious.

4 minutes ago, Sarah-Sylvia said:

Why not just say you're spiritual and ditch religion?

Because for some religion is more than the beliefs themselves or the spirituality, it can be the culture and atmosphere too, especially in highly ritualistic or community based religions like Judaism, Islam, and Catholicism. I know people who don't believe in a god but still want to go to their religious houses of worship with family and participate in the holidays, rituals, and prayers they were raised in because it is habit. For example, a lot of people raised Christian will still celebrate Christmas and Easter even if they are atheist.

Hi. Do you mean this thread or something different?