Hi, newbie here!

Witchy

Hi, everyone! I'm new and happy to be here. 

I'm a non-binary pansexual in a mixed relationship with my asexual partner of 2+ years. We live together and have three cats together. My partner is my rock. He's the smartest and strongest person I know, and he's my best friend. He's also affectionate and I don't (often) doubt that he loves me. I love him very much. 

We both deal with depression and anxiety and insecurities, so we check-in with each other often. He knows I'm reaching out to this forum looking for support and to connect with folx.   

Sometimes, I wonder what makes our relationship different than the relationship he has with friends. Sometimes, I get jealous of the emotional connection he has with his friends and when my insecurities drag me down, I wonder "Am I just a roommate?" 

Sometimes, I miss the physical intimacy of sex and that feeling of being desired and wanted and needed. I wonder "What can I do to make myself feel better?" Because I realize that feeling down and bad about myself isn't my partners responsibility to fix.  

I hate dumping my insecurities on him as it brings him down and makes him feel bad, too. 

Aside from communicating with him, what are some things I can do to heal my insecurities? How can I re-program my brain from connecting sex with feeling wanted/needed/desired/loved? Are there any books or blogs I can read, or maybe he and I can read together? 

Thanks. 

Welcome!

Sorry to hear you're having trouble in your relationship! I hope someone who has better advice than I could ever give can point you in a direction where you can get some solid answers and you figure things out!! C :

Have fun here! n.n

• 2 weeks later...

Perhaps he is all that and that will be fine. But to me it sounds like a relationship with your best friend. That can be great, though! But you have to accept never to be wanted and never to ‘share’ that awesome feeling of mutual sexual desire.