Age You First Identified As Asexual / Aromantic or on the spectrum(s) of the two

Rainy Robin

Identifying with Asexuality / Aromanticism   

161 members have voted

1. 1. When did you first think you were asexual / aromantic or on the asexual / aromantic spectrums? (in years old)

• Before age 15
    • 15 - 20
    • 20 - 25
    • 25 - 30
    • 30 - 35
    • 35 - 40
    • 40 - 45
    • 45 - 50
    • 50+

This poll is closed to new votes

Rainy Robin

Just curious to see when people first thought they might be aro / ace / on the spectrums. :) 

I came to the realization that I'm on the aro/ace spectrums late last year, so when I was 16. If I really would've looked into it more before that, I probably would've found out that I'm demi (demiromantic at least) when I was like 15, maybe 14.

After I graduated high school and around the time I met my bf, so 19 I'd say. 

Rainy Robin

Similar to @Elise Jennings I think I would've figured it out sooner too if I had looked it up earlier. I didn't realize I might be ace / arospec until a few months ago (at 21) when I started learning more about sexual orientations and realized the bisexual label didn't work for me 😆

Gamma/kimera

first thought about it at 19....figured it out at 25...had about 5 years of denial.   Fully accepted the label around my 30th birthday

26 minutes ago, Rainy_Robin said:

I think I would've figured it out sooner too if I had looked it up earlier.

Yeah, same. I figured it out last year (so age 19) but my earliest memory of being confused/uninterested in sex and romance was age 12. I just didn't have a word for the feelings back then.

NickyTannock

I was around 14 years old. The realisation came when I started hearing sexual and romantic comments from my peers and in media and felt bewildered by them.

Janus the Fox

Moved to Census Forum

Janus DarkFox

Questions about Asexuality, Asexual Musings and Rantings & Open Mic Moderator

Janus the Fox