New to this....

Mairisue

Hello, 

I’ve just found this site, and am bravely doing something I’ve never done before – typing “anonymously” on a site I barely understand, in the hope that I’ll maybe begin to understand myself more...

I’m in my late 50s, and have just left a marriage of nearly 40 years, during which time I never enjoyed the (often daily) sex, but felt utterly unable to say so.  I felt it must be my fault:  there was something wrong with me;  perhaps I wasn’t relaxed enough;  or maybe (wickedness personified!!) I’d married my husband when I shouldn’t have, and I didn’t really “love” him at all.  Whatever the reason, it was my shame, my guilt – and absolutely my secret.  I told no-one.  
Increasingly, having sex with my husband felt like having sex with a much-loved brother - and just as wrong and inappropriate.  I did it for as long as I could.  A couple of years ago I finally managed to negotiate separate rooms (following a breakdown during which I was hospitalised for 4 months - I claimed I needed “space” to recover when I got home) and last year I left the 38 year relationship. 
I am so delighted to be lying down at night by myself, with no thought of sex at all - but I am consumed by guilt at the hurt I have caused, and have had no understanding of why I didn’t and couldn’t enjoy or want sex like the rest of the world seems to.  
Tonight a tentative google search brought me to you – and perhaps, eventually, to some understanding of myself, my failings, my feelings (or lack of them) and (hopefully, hopefully...) to some measure of self-forgiveness for all the hurt and disappointment I have caused.

@Mairisue, welcome to AVEN 🎂 🎂 

7 hours ago, Mairisue said:

Hello, 

I’ve just found this site, and am bravely doing something I’ve never done before – typing “anonymously” on a site I barely understand, in the hope that I’ll maybe begin to understand myself more...