From Insult to ...Acceptance?

Meadow.E.G.

Hi, fellow Aces!

I've been wanting to make an account and say something for the longest time now, but I never had the courage. I've never used forums before, and as a person who knows nothing about computers and the internet, really, I'm quite nervous about posting to a bunch of strangers. But, hey, we all know the courage that comes to you at 3:46 am after not being able to sleep, right? So here goes:

I grew up just saying that "I don't like boys or girls." Nobody really understood it, but, before I was a teenager, they accepted it. As I got older, though, it became harder to get away with the simple phrase. My friends started wanting to talk about crushes, high school parties always involved some sort of sex game, and I had absolutely no interest in any of it. It just made me so uncomfortable. I still sometimes close my eyes when I see people kiss. I skip over sex scenes in movies, and whenever I hit romance in a previously enjoyable book, I throw it aside. One time, I pretended to be asleep at during a weird spin-the-bottle situation so my friend would take me back home without me upsetting anyone. It's not like I want to be this way, but I also don't like feeling like I'm going to vomit. It was always like there was just this part of me that was physically disgusted by that kind of intimacy. It's the same feeling I get when I hear people talk about medical stuff. You know, you can't control that queasy, nasty feeling you get when you see blood. It's just like that.