Politics of unemployment figures

Lonemathsytoothbrushthief

I came across someone using unemployment figures as percentages of the population to explain how well the UK economy was working in a given time period and it made me angry. How common is this as a way of measuring success? Do people realise the problem is the lack of access to benefits while being unemployed, or if unable to work, and not the unemployment itself? What are your views on unemployment? I'm genuinely curious, I'm a student but struggling to do anything towards my thesis because mental health is trash, so I see myself being forced into work I can't handle to be able to survive. In the next year I need to be working and supporting myself, and while I have good qualifications I do not see myself as in a position where I'm capable of work. I know there are many other people in much worse situations than I am, being forced into employment due to lack of benefits etc despite their health and other situations. Even worse is how the tories in the UK were, in the past, able to claim they had increased employment rates because of how they recategorised many unemployed people as employed by changing how it was measured. Considering how governments pull tricks like this to stay in power, what do you make of unemployment figures and unemployment in general?

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2017/oct/29/sparkling-jobless-figures-mask-real-picture-uk-economy-unemployed