Split Attraction Model as an Aro/Ace

HazyShadeofFall

HazyShadeofFall

Despite doing my best to specify that I'm both aromantic and asexual and talk about them separately in ace & aro spectrum communities, on a personal level I don't really separate them, I just call myself asexual. The split attraction model really confused me when I started learning about it, and honestly I still feel like I don't quite "get" it. It's like people asking me to describe the difference between the taste of flour and the taste of sugar in cake. Sure, they may be different ingredients, but with the way I experience them I can never really separate them. Anyone else feel the same way?

I can definitely say it took me a while to get the split attraction model, and I'm one of the reasons for it as a hetero-ro ace. Basically, I think of it as what draws you to a person and how far you want to take it.

Asethetic attraction is their appearance making you interested in them, even if you observe it from afar like a painting.

Platonic attraction is their personality or something about them as a person making you interested in them, and wanting to be friends or companions.

Sensual attraction is wanting to touch someone. This can be platonic, like hugging or holding hands with friends, or romantic like kissing or cuddling, or sexual. And not to say the things listed are only platonic/romantic/sexual, but that they're generally perceived as such in the society I come from.

Romanctic attraction I don't experience without a combination of the first two. But it's when I want to continue my friendship farther, want to monopolize that person, don't get tired with their presence even after hours of spending time with them. It's hard to quantify. Basically, I want to do romantic things with them, and share my romanticism

Sexual attraction is often combined with some of the above. It's wanting to share your sexuality with someone (or something).