How to figure out if I'm aromantic or if I'm just afraid of being in a relationship

maybeimamazed

maybeimamazed

Let me put my "credentials" out there.

I'm 27. I'm a virgin. I've never been in a relationship. I've never been in love.

I've been identifying as aromantic for about 3 years. I only just came out as asexual last year. For most people it's the other way around, but that's how strongly I relate to the concept of aromanticism.

The idea of being in a romantic relationship bores me to tears at best and makes me downright uncomfortable at worst. But lately I've been wondering if this might be a state of mind rather than an orientation. I'm a very closed off person and I value my individuality above almost everything. So I wonder if I might just fall in love if I put myself out there with an open mind, even though it hasn't happened so far.

It's still distressing as fuck to think about it, but... I don't know. Can you fall in love against your will? Even if you don't want to? I guess that's a good way to put it.

I've been fretting over this so much that I caved and made a dating profile in one of those apps, against every fiber of my being. For some reason, it's way less distressing to do so in a lesbian/bi app (I'm a cis woman).

Help me out guys, any advice is appreciated.