Non-binary - need some advice on clothes

GillnotGil

I'm afab but I have recently started to identify as non binary. I'm a teacher, and at work I have to be dressed fairly formally. In the UK, for women that means any kind of smart casual - dresses or trousers are fine, sometimes a jacket, sometimes not. For men it generally means a suit, or something on that level. I have a couple of outfits that I like and make me feel good, with chinos, shirt and jacket. It's kind of halfway in between the men's suit and the women's options.

But basically I want to wear men's clothes, or a more masculine style of clothes. My issue is that men's clothes aren't designed to fit my body/my body doesn't work for men's clothes, so they look wrong on me/don't look how I want them to look. I guess I want to wear men's clothes and have them look like they do on men. (Side note: I'm quite slim, I have small boobs, curvy ish hips. Not the most feminine body but hard to disguise as not-feminine, definitely doesn't fit in men's clothing.)

The other option is to recreate men's styles with women's clothing, but I just can't find what I want. Clothing shops are all about that gender binary, they don't want to make women's clothes look like men's clothes. So if I'm in men's clothes I look wrong, and in women's clothes I look too feminine.

I don't really feel dysphoria with anything apart from clothes. I like my body - it doesn't define me, it doesn't have a whole lot to do with who I am and my gender - but I want to be able to dress how I want, and with my body I can't.

I feel stupid for getting upset over clothes not fitting me, and to be perfectly honest I don't know whether this would be labelled as dysphoria or just being picky. I'm lucky to be generally ok in my body, and I feel stupid to be making a fuss over this.

I guess I'm posting this to see if anyone feels the same, or if anyone has any advice? Would be grateful to hear your thoughts.