Asexual in a relatioship with sexual partner - need advice!

Anacewithgrace

Anacewithgrace

Hi there! I'm very new to asking for advice on forums, so I'm sorry if any of this seems out of place

So I (18F) believe I am asexual. I've had this thought for a few years now and I've never really been in a situation to question it until now. I've been in a relationship with my boyfriend (19m) for over a year now. I love him so much and I probably want to marry him. The main issue that has occured, however, is that he is much more sexual than I am. We hold hands, cuddle, kiss, etc, but it has never gone past making out. We are also each others first relationships, so neither of us have any experience.

I told him about it about 3 months in and he didn't take it well at first. He got better with it as time went on, but the farther along we got into the relationship the more prevelant the topic became. He asked me about it one day and I just became so overwhelmed with anxiety and guilt of not being able to give him everything that he wants. We soon figured out a non-physical compromise that seemed to work for him for a bit.

He's brought up the idea of initiating something more physical and I truly don't know how to approach it. I've been thinking about trying more, but it would really be only to satisfy him. I told him that I would have to be the one to initiate otherwise I would get freaked out. He's so supportive of me and does his best to make sure I am comfortable, but I know this is a need that he has and I want to be able to make him happy as much as I can.

I'm mainly looking for advice on how to approach starting stuff from people who have been in a similar mixed relationship. I've looked at so many forums and articles about it and I'm trying to keep the idea of me being guilty or feeling broken out of my head, but I just need to get my own experience out there to get the best advice

kumiko_itoe