Hi, I’m new

BaileNua

Hi there,

I have never used a forum before and am nervous!

I’m 17 and I live in Ireland.

I think I’ve known that I’m asexual for two years now. I used to think I was demisexual but I had a conversation with a friend recently about people we know who have come out as bisexual and then later come out as gay. We talked about how maybe they hadn’t accepted themselves fully when they first came out and I ended up doing some self-reflecting. Anyway, I have been doing a lot of researching and have realised that I am hetero-romantic asexual. After seeing posts about so many childhood experiences that I can relate to it seems so obvious and I think I’ve actually always known but just haven’t acknowledged it. It’s been easy to ignore because I don’t really have time for relationships so have never addressed the fact that I actively don’t want them.

So, I haven’t come out yet. I don’t really feel the need to, to be honest. There is definitely one friend that I want to tell and maybe my sisters. It’s kind of hard where I live, it’s just a very judge-y area. Lots of people here don’t come out until they’re older, when they’ve moved to areas with more open-minded people. Also, I cringe at the thought of how I’d butcher explaining asexuality through my nerves. It’s just not something that people would understand where I live.

I still have a lot of figuring out to do, but it’s really nice to read these posts and be able to relate to them. Finally! It’s actually really weird to read about people’s experiences and be able to say “that happens to me!” 

So, I guess I’ll include a few things about myself:

- I play the French horn and it is a HUGE part of my life. 

- I also play the piano and guitar.

- I’m OBSESSED with The Big Bang Theory and anything else with Jim Parsons.

- I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, but I haven’t seen The Crimes of Grindelwald yet, so no spoilers please!