RoseGoesToYale

Free phone call from jail

RoseGoesToYale

I wasn't going to make this thread, but now I think I am. Any time a person is arrested in a democratic society (or at least, I know the US and Canada do this, at least, in the movies it always works like this... I'm not a law expert) that person is allowed at least one phone call, presumably to let their mother know that they are in fact alive, are in jail, and maybe this time, just this time, need some help. I have noticed that no such extension exists here, and that at any random time, AVEN members I know and friends might be under a ban for any indeterminate period of time and the rest of the forum will not be apprised of this fact. It is in this situation I may scramble, in my very much anxiety-plagued skull, to ascertain what horrible fate may have befallen them.

Being that this is an online locale, it's much easier to drop off the face of a forum than from real life, because if you drop out of real life people tend to notice. In the event a well-established AVEN member is about to take a short, long, or eternal hiatus, they will usually post a status update to that effect, informing how long they will be gone and when/if they will return and various benedictions, so as to lessen the anxiety of friends and assure them of their aliveness, safety, and health. However, and I'm not apprised of how exactly the banning procedure works, bans do appear to be immediate and affect the posting of status updates, so a banned member may not be able to inform others of their nowhereabouts for the duration of that time.