Aromantic realisation in later life

rancidpunk

Hi,

Newbie here, but not of the world. Being 45, and coming out of a long term relationship last year, the last few months have been very up and down. Coming from an era where aromantic hadn't been heard of, and finding females attractive, I'd lived my life until this week thinking I was heterosexual, and thoroughly miserable as a result

However I had a lightbulb moment earlier this week, after discussing with some friends, and some soul searching later I phoned the ex. We'd been together 18 years, the last 5 of which had been hell until I eventually ended it, with the hell continuing. I had thought I was in love, never having been before, but came to the conclusion that being the most intense feeling I'd had with anyone, this must be love. When my ex confirmed that she knew neither of us had been in love from the start, and it then made sense to me, and her accepting this had eventually led to her going off the rails. I'd never been romantic, not that touchy feely either, and I'd kind of gone along with kissing as well until near the end it was just a quick lip brush.