In a relationship by accident

user23974865

user23974865

(Not a current situation, just something from the past that I was recently reminded of by something else. Phew! 😅)

I'm wondering how common this might be. Have you ever had someone that you considered as "a dear friend" and then eventually you discovered (or they told you) that they considered you specifically as "their significant other", and neither of you had any idea that your understanding of the friend/relationship was different?

This happened to me a few years ago, with an online friend I had been talking to every day for several months. It was very surprising to me, and it's still surprising because, even though we had been in contact every day and we talked about very personal things, she knew it was a longstanding habit of mine and she wasn't my first friend of that kind, and she knew that it was always women (because talking about personal things with other guys is just... weird). Kind of a cautionary tale for me to keep in mind. I willingly went along with it that time and fully committed to it, but I learned that I should think twice. I later looked back at the "just friendship" days as the best days of the relationship.

Did she lose her shit when you said you thought it was just a friendship the entire time? I'm assuming that because you said the "just friendship" days were the best that the rest of it was a nightmare. :P

user23974865
11 minutes ago, Winter Spirit ❅ said:

Did she lose her shit when you said you thought it was just a friendship the entire time?