why be with someone if you are not aroused by them?

Guest iwanttolearn

Guest iwanttolearn

Hello, how is everyone?

so i'm new to being asexual.. and i told my friend about it.

and he asked me why would you be with someone if you are not aroused by them?

i told him arousal doesn't mean anything to me...

but what are your thoughts how would you answer this question?

Because obviously the only reason to care about someone else is because we have sexual interest in them...

Sometimes I wonder what the relationships (romantic/sexual and otherwise) of the people who spout questions like these are like.  I feel like it isn't a very pretty picture...

RoseGoesToYale

I'd probably ask if there was ever a person who aroused him 100% of the time, as in every time he sees this person, boom, he's aroused. His answer would likely be no, I can't think of anyone who was that persistently aroused who didn't have a sort of disorder. Every sexual person I've ever known isn't aroused by someone they like that much, it's pretty situational, and a big component in liking those people is appreciating other qualities of them in addition to sexual attraction, like enjoying conversations with them, doing fun activities together, sharing similar tastes, etc. Relationships based purely on one single attractive quality, be it sexual or otherwise, usually don't last long because there's nothing else to hold it up if that quality changes or fades.

I'm not aroused by anyone, but I can think of a hundred different reasons to be with someone I like.

Agreed will all of the above. Is love off the table when one isn't aroused by the other person? Are you with that person only for sex? Is the relationship nothing but sex? No dating or talking or cuddling or anything?

Possible, but probably not what the person meant.