I'm aromantic and like the concept of fictional romance, but I feel weird seeing people date in real life

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀

hey! im completely new to aven but i dont have any aspec friends so i was hoping this would give me more help :'D i dont know the etiquette here so sorry if i do anything wrong,, mostly i just wanted to get my thoughts out

ive been sure im aroace ever since i heard the term, but at the same time i've always really loved romantic relationships between fictional characters. i spend a lot of my free time thinking about how nice it would be if my favorite characters dated and looking at fanart and fanfiction. i dont mind reading the more nsfw stuff either, and im completely fine with those kind of jokes. the idea of projecting myself onto any of the characters makes my skin crawl, but i really do adore seeing fictional characters date. i think its cute.

apparently it only applies to fictional characters though?? bc ive tried watching real life shows and i absolutely hated any romance in it at all. it was doable if i converted them to anime characters in my head, but it was still bad. its even more horrible in real life - there was a time i was stuck on a bus behind a couple that wouldnt stop kissing, and i couldnt look straight at them bc i felt sick just thinking about them. its like, if people had sex in public, theyd be seen as weird. kissing in public is just as weird to me. i get that some allos like pda though, so in a normal situation id just look the other way and leave. but it was a bus, what was i supposed to do?? throw myself out the window???