Touchy women

Dreamsexual

what the face

Your observation touches me too

not in a edgy way though!    (ha)

yea, I work in the healthcare field and interact with plenty of caregiver's.

Many are female nurses, assistants, (hands on) therapists etc.

Their work with client/patients involves touching,  I understand,

But why must some include touching me,  a colleague.

What about consent here?

I have gotten accustomed to this to a degree.   

I try to get consent of some sort whenever my work involves touching

someone, and would not ever touch a colleague without their 

consent.  

Boundaries, 

to protect and defend

And not come across as defensive or aloof.                                           

"Hey, who you calling a Loof?"

Well, if you work with dead things all the time and cultivate one hell of a bitch face, no one will ever want to get near you. Works for me. 😃

I had a classmate who would just tell people straight out that she wasn't a hugger and to please not touch her. She'd cultivated this skill for years so that she was able to make the request in a totally neutral way (ie, she didn't make anyone feel badly for trying, nor did she apologize for setting boundaries). There's nothing wrong with making the rules for your own personal space. =]

Relatedly, I also don't do touching as a physical comfort thing, and I tell people this. My friends know I suck at handling highly wrought emotional situations anyway, but I'll remind them anyhow - "You know I suck at this, but you also know I love and support you." And when the moment calms, I nip out and bring them back a six pack or a plush bear or a chocolate bar or something.  Only once did that make someone start crying all ovrr again... But I think it was gratitude. =D