Questioning My Sexuality

smolbirdchild

smolbirdchild

Hello, friends! This is my first time posting, and I'm insanely nervous, so apologies if this doesn't make much sense.

So I have a boyfriend, and we've started dating recently. He's friends with my best friend, and we always joke about how he isn't going to have sex with me. In the beginning when we started dating (and we didn't know each other too well), I'd automatically say no to sex. Now, I've gotten closer to him and am more open to it, but I still find sex disgusting. The act itself seems gross. And I want the emotional connection with my boyfriend, not just a physical one. 

I came out to him as possibly-most-likely ace recently, just so he knew where I was coming from. Don't get me wrong I like him a lot, and I want to have a strong emotional connection with him. But I'm just not physically into sex. 

I know a lot of aspec people don't have crushes, but I did in the past. I used to like people for superficial things such as their appearance. But not so much now. I'm now in college and trying to figure everything out. Does have crushes in the past invalidate me?

Does this make me ace? Or gray-ace? Or demi? This is all entirely confusing, and I knew I was queer but never considered being ace before dating my boyfriend (mostly because I just ignored my problems and just had insane crushes). 

Like what even is sexual attraction? I used to like people because I thought they were cute. Is that sexual attraction? I've never considered having sex with anyone before, except in my stupid fantasies. 

• Like 1

Welcome to AVEN

Nothing invalidates you, you are valid and valuable no matter how you identify.

I don't see anything in what you have said which would indicate that you are not asexual.

Sexual Attraction is

Primary/Secondary attraction model - primary for self, secondary for others