Asexuality & Christianity

MostlyVoid

Hey, I'm relatively new to this site but I've been identifying as asexual for the past 4 years. I'm openly asexual at my university but my lecturers still aren't really aware. I study theology, religion and ethics and am going into my third year. That means it's dissertation time. 

Last year, I wrote an essay which touched upon general LGBTQIA+ identify in the Christian faith. My lecturer gave me feedback on this essay, saying that the 'A' was not necessary to include, as it was not the common phrasing used in religious scholarship and unlike with the other identities, it was not "rude" to exclude it. 

I'm now working on my dissertation, and his feedback got me thinking about asexuality in the the Christian faith. I'm interested in whether or not any of you have had experiences where you've felt rejected by the Church, or whether or not you feel asexuality is compatible with the Christian faith (or any faith)? 

You'd really be helping me out, as the personal opinions I have on this matter have all come from some extreme Christian forums which mainly talked about abusing asexual until they're 'fixed'. Thanks!