Just one more year to go

ayananana

Hello everyone, first of all I do not know if this is the right forum to post this. Feel free to move it to the right place thank you.

But anyways, I am just confused and questioning on where my life will be headed right now. I am a college student studying biology, already in my senior year and I have mix feelings on whether I should continue to med school or continue to graduate school instead. I have always seen myself in med school since my parents kept on nudging me to that direction. So I just followed their instructions since I didn't really know what to go for in terms of my career. But now after three years in college, I am really interested in the research my professors are doing and now that I'm experiencing it first-hand in my thesis, I can see myself doing this as well. But the smile on my parent's faces when I told them I was taking the NMAT (the entrance exams for med school, I think it's equivalent to MCAT in the US) this year made me feel things. You could see how proud they are. But I did talked to them about going into research. My dad was okay with it, but you could see how my mom was a bit disappointed. They just told me that it is my life and I should be the judge on where I should go, but that is the problem, I don't know. I don't hate going to med school and pursuing a medical career but I also don't hate continuing to graduate school.

So overall, how did you know what career choice you wanted to pursue?

Hi Ayananana :)

I am sort of going trough something similar, it's just so insanely difficult to decide what to de with your life. Would it be possible to take a sort of gap year when you finish college?