Struggling in a long term relationship

tnb12

Hi, my name is Tina and this is my first time posting in the forum. 

Ive been doing lots of research online and I think I fall into the category of gray-sexual. I’ve had sexual partners in the past but they’ve always intiated and sexual contact as I haven’t really been that fussed. I rarely think about having sex or feel any kind of sexual feelings whatsoever. 

Ive been with my partner for 3 years but we’ve only had sex a handful of times. Initially we thought my libido was affected because I was on the contraceptive pill for so many years but after being off the pill for over a year, it’s clear I’ve just never really had those kind of feelings? Recently things have been a lot harder because he has a very high sex drive and with mine being virtually non-existent when we do spend time together it’s like a giant elephant in the room? He’s started to struggle with his self confidence because sometimes he thinks I don’t find him attractive and don’t want to have sex with him? I hate the idea that I’ve upset him and hurt his feelings but it’s also very frustrating for me because I just don’t know how to deal with his insecurities when I have a million of my own? 

I was was just wondering if anybody had any advice or coping strategies for what we can do to help the situation? 

Thanks! 

Taylor Lilith

Do you like sex or are neutral towards it?

Taylor Lilith

Also Welcome to Aven!  Have some cake :cake:

First of all, these links might lend a hand:

https://www.asexuality.org/?q=relationship.html

https://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2017/06/23/asexual-partner_a_22716158/?guccounter=1 (I would take this with a grain of salt though, as the 'minimum number of sex' thing strikes me as something that doesn't take into account sex-repulsion)

Second of all, Welcome to AVEN, have some cake, sit down, we're all very friendly! 🍰