Lizlemon

How did you know you were gray romantic?

Lizlemon

I’m really confused with my romantic orientation, and, even though I have decided not to use any labels for now, I still wonder a lot trying to understand how I feel.

so, how did you know that you were gray romantic and not just romantic? I mean, how did you know that for you feeling romantic attraction was something uncommon? 

I’m new to a lot of this and I have only felt romantic attraction once (after being pretty sure of being aromantic, so that confused me). Is there a way to differentiate between being gray romantic and just romantic besides long term experience? Maybe I’m not expressing myself in the best of ways, I apologize, but I don’t know how to distinguish the two without waiting a lot to see statistically how often I feel romantically attracted to someone.

thank you fo reading this and wanting to help ❤️

• Like 1

SkyWorld

It's different for everyone, especially since the grey area is a large spectrum. From personal experience, I'm more on the very dark grey area leaning aromantic. I thought that I was aromantic for a long time and have only experienced romantic attraction once in my lifetime thus far. And that had only developed after a very very long time. It also took me a while to figure out if it was romantic attraction or not. So I identify as grey romantic because of how apparently rare it is and under that specific circumstance(s). Not sure how much that helps, but just thought I'd share my own personal experience. Good luck!

Fluffy Femme Guy

I figured it out (didn't have a word for it though) after my two failed relationships in high school.

Most romantic gestures just did nothing, very little, or were just 'okay'. I didn't exactly dislike most of them, but it seemed like there was some sort of feeling I was supposed to have that wasn't there. The whole thing felt incredibly underwhelming and strange. Not bad per say, but it was pointless for me.