What's Off-Limits for you?

Tyger Songbird

So, for all my asexuals (romantic or aro), what would you consider off-limits for you? What is something in terms of a physical act (kissing, cuddling, intercourse, etc) that you would consider crossing your boundaries of discretion for you?

For me, I've never been in a relationship before. I've never been on a date or anything of that nature. So, I have no experience with all this relationship stuff. I know that many might consider that weird, but for me, I'm perfectly fine and happy with the result.

However, I did get to thinking one day about what I would want to personally have in a relationship, really. I got to thinking about what I would like to personally try and do in terms of romanticism. I really thought long and hard about this one, and it was really difficult for me to put into words. I thought about all the certain things that are supposedly part and parcel of a traditional relationship, I guess. What I found was that my list of off-limits things was really quite long, longer than I expected really and in a sense really peculiar. Here's what I found.

In my mind, all that came to mind was this picture of a couple hugging. Really, I thought that it was quite significant to me, in its specificity of hug. Watching that kind of hug is really significant, because to me it is a tender hug. It's not just like a hug between some friend but rather your best friend in the whole entire world, really. I mean, it's like a comforting hug you give someone who's your "more than friend". It holds a specialness to it, really. It's like comfort and safety when you're in someone's arms. It's like you're safe and secure with them, and you know they're not going to hurt you. A significant love between two people who truly care about and look out for each other's heart. It was what I thought, a bit symbolic I know.