In a Constant State of Confusion

Aelys

Hi, everyone!

I'm very new to AVEN, and also pretty knew to the notion of my own asexuality. It's been an increasing issue in the past couple of years as I've found myself less and less capable of instigating a relationship for countless reasons, but primarily my lack of physical attraction to anyone and not 'clicking' with them simply because they seem to 'feel' something more than/too fast for me.

Am I confused? Most probably.

I think if I was going to label myself simply I would think demi? But even I don't know! It seems such a huge thing to encompass something so big in a single little word.

Anyway, I'm really looking forward to meeting everyone and can't wait to talk about anything and everything! I'm a Sydney girl, from Australia, and simply haven't found I've made good headway with meeting anyone in an even vaguely similar situation to me. So here's to meeting new people. Thanks for reading!

ôÿē èîęēú ïė ēôēįîûôø
20 minutes ago, Aelys said:

I think if I was going to label myself simply I would think demi?

Well, do you think you'd feel sexual attraction upon establishing a deeper connection with someone?

Welcome to heAVEN! Have some :cake:!

Hey, I just got here as well! I cannot really help you with your questions. I thought it was cool to see someone from across the globe in a similar situation.

I'm not sure. I've never been in a relationship for long enough to test it out. It always gets to the point where they either try to initiate intimacy that I'm not comfortable with, so I try and explain it and they back off entirely, or I pull away because I don't want to hurt them if I don't feel something for them to the same degree that they start to feel.
I think I come across as really bubbly and enthusiastic, especially early on, so it's sort of encouraging? Which is a bit slack of me, I know, but I can't help being excited when meeting people for the first few times...