Non-binary is just the beginning

Dawning

This is my first time telling people these things. I think I’ve finally found reasonable terms to describe myself, but I’m eager to hear about any other terms that might be an even better fit, so please feel free to toss out anything that comes to mind.

My overall view, which does not imply criticism of those with different preferences, is; I want words to describe myself that say who I am, not who I am not. I want to avoid words that include things like: a-, non-, un-, neut-, -less, -free, etc. I am not defined by lacking things that so-called “normal” people have, any more than they are defined by lacking things that I have, or by my relationship to the “binary norm.”

I’m not part of any norm. Sexual orientation, romantic orientation, gender; all far enough from the experience of the average person that I am just now, well into middle-age, finally getting myself sorted out.

My sexual orientation is the easy one: I've never felt sexual attraction or desire, so obviously I’m asexual. If anyone has a better term for it that doesn't suggest the lack of something or the reproduction of the lowest life forms, I’d be thrilled to hear it, though, LOL.

Edit 1-23-22: It’s been a long time since I felt this stuff, so I just realized that I must be DEMIromantic; I’ve never felt romantic feelings before having an established connection. It’s also possible that I’m aromantic now, and that’s why it’s been so long… I guess I won’t know until I either have romantic feelings again, or so much time passes without it that I can feel confident that it’s a done deal. For now: poly-demiromantic.

Edit 6-9-21: After a year and a half, I was beginning to be pretty confident that I had my gender completely figured out… and then I FELT my gender shift! I described it here: