What to do if your relatives are very conservative

I've been trying to tell my relatives about my asexuality for several months and as you can see by the title, I haven't successed in it.

They simply can't understand it and think that this is weird and " You just haven't tried yet". They also claim that asexuality doesn't exist and call me a maximalist.

For example, when I tried to come out as asexual, my mom said that the woman's life goal is to have a husband and a bunch of kids. At that moment I decided not to risk and just keep quiet about  my asexuality.

But it really bothers me since my relatives have started to think that I'm mentally not ok or they just make a disguisted face when I try to explain what my position about relationships is. Do you have any ideas how to deal with it? I'd be very glad if you could help me

P.s. sorry for mistakes, I'm not that good at English

The Sad Ghost

Okay, so let me get this straight. Based on this I suppose that your family would be disgusted if you had a lots of sex? But now they are disgusted bc you haven't had sex and don't want it? Interesting. They seem to go with this "women should save themselves for their husband"-logic. I have always thought that people who believed in this thought women had a low libido or something, but they are uppset bc you don't want sex.

I would say that your life goal as a woman is whatever you make it, if it is to have a lots of children or to climb mountain Everest, that is all fine.

You could show this to your family; https://www.asexuality.org/?q=family.html

NickyTannock

Welcome to AVEN!

I don't have any ideas for you, as I haven't told my family that I'm Asexual because of how conservative they are.

10.jpg

15 minutes ago, The Sad Ghost said: