"Why Our Generation's Ability to Play Music is Dying"

Palovana

This sucks...

My parents wanted me to be "academically talented and athletic..." yet I decided to be a choir geek and learn music production.

I feel like values are shifting in schools, parents are prioritizing different things, and every time someone even mentions "I'm a musician" people either think you're trying to be the next Taylor Swift or the next Mozart and "you'll end up broke anyways"

However, there will always be musically minded people, born that way or who grow into it (I literally think in melodies and my thoughts are in rhythms) and it's a choice of the individual to pursue. We just need to encourage music more in schools...

That is rather sad. I can see why one would be depressed.

RoseGoesToYale

I do agree that in many places, the arts and music have been played down in favor of quote unquote "hard skills", and it's really sad, but the whole generation hasn't succumbed to it yet! There are pockets, it depends where in the world you go. A few summers ago I visited my friend in Portland and got to see her and her band record a few music videos. It was one of the coolest things I ever saw. There was no tuning, no editing, just a few lights and them jamming up on stage. The music scene is huge there, and people are really passionate about listening to it and playing instruments. Places like Portland, Seattle, and Nashville etc. are still interested in making music the traditional way, but I too feel like the English-speaking world has lost some of its best musical possibilities to the desire for profit.