Mental health

CasperJ

This a pretty serious topic. I am not coping. I should probably see a therapist because I’m struggling with depression and a somewhat weird and slightly scary form of anxiety. I know depression is very serious. It almost killed me two years ago. I stopped myself though. I never told anyone until last year and the friend I told made me tell my parents. Nothing was done. I still feel so numb, or guilty or just so hurt. I’ve been coping for three years now, but I never did it well, and resorted to pretty harsh ways of coping if you get what I mean (not drugs btw, the other coping method that should never be used). I’ve met other people with depression but I never really talked about my experience because I wanted to help them but I didn’t want them to know about me. 

My my anxiety is another really long paragraph. It started when I was about eight. I didn’t think much about what I was going through until I was twelve. Every night, I’d get these horrible nightmares, which is nothing out of the ordinary for an eight year old. But the dreams never went away. I still get terrible nightmares today. The dreams seem to get worse as I get older, and nothing has made them go away. It’s called nightmare disorder, or dream anxiety disorder. I know that it’s just a dream, but it wears away at you when you watch everyone you’ve ever met die repeatedly in gruesome, graphic ways every single night. It has also made the whole coming out process harder because of this reoccurring dream where all of my queer friends get shoved into closets and then stabbed through the closet. 

I know I should see a therapist but I don’t know how to ask my parents to see one, and I can’t talk to the school councillor because I’d have to talk to the principal and my mother works at the school. What can I do?