New, very confused and would love for someone to talk too

Luthienb

Hi dear person reading this! I'm a 22 year old and the past couple of months I slowly started to realise that maybe I'm asexual. I never had time for any dating and always thought I was just a late bloomer. I moved to London in June and started dating because I felt like I finally had to do what all my friends where doing: finding a partner, but it's been very hard on me. I forced myself into very uncomfortable situations hoping that I would start to feel something but I just don't. I tried to talk to friends but it seems that no one really understands and I just feel so confused, alone and a bit broken. This is my first time reaching out to people who hopefully understand what I feel. So please feel free to talk to me, I think I really need it.

SpeakoftheDevil

Hi there! I know exactly how you feel. I always assumed the whole "feeling attracted to people and wanting to do the sex to them" thing would just eventually kick in, but it never did. Dated for a while and it was so very awkward. It is hard to talk to friends about it because it's so hard to explain your positionality and how you see the world so differently from them. I don't think I started identifying as asexual so much as I thought  "oh yeah that's what that is okay" I just got the language to use to explain ALL the things I couldn't before

banoffeepie

Hi and welcome! :cake::cake:

Sadly it's probably not worth telling a whole bunch of people. I've never bothered, no one gets it... or if they pretend to they are thinking something else.