hullo...

Entmoot

After a bit of lurking, I'm finally forcing myself to introduce...myself. So, hello. Like many here, I've been confused about (and mostly repulsed by) sex for as long as I can remember, but with the help of sites like this I'm slowly, possibly, becoming less confused. And I'm nearing an age at which I'd really like to have this figured out. I'm a graduate student in psychology/neuroscience, so I tend to approach my own issues from an academic slant. I'm finding it helpful to read the sparse yet seemingly growing literature on this topic, but I think a community like this will be equally if not more valuable. I look forward to reading about people's personal experiences and (easing into) sharing my own.

On that note, I know people from AVEN have been actively involved in research and recruited by researchers of asexuality, but is there a thread on here that's devoted to discussion of journal articles on the topic? I did a little searching and couldn't find one, but let me know if I'm missing something obvious.

I should also note that it's been a long time since I've participated in any online community, so please forgive me if I'm a little rusty on etiquette...

Hey @Entmoot, welcome to AVEN! :cake:

@Pramana would be a good one to ask about journal articles and the like; he'll probably be able to direct you to a topic thread as well, if we have one going somewhere (I'm sure we do).

What year are you in your program? =)

Welcome to the website!

I have an amateur interest in asexuality research, and I've read most of the books and articles published to date. Discussions on AVEN shade more towards 101 intro and general socializing, so my experience has been that usually there isn't sufficient interest to sustain discussions of academic articles.