Question

knittinghistorian

knittinghistorian

I have a question to put to AVEN. I’m a college professor, and one of my students has an obviously feminine name, but dresses in a clearly masculine way. This student will be giving a presentation in class later in the semester, and I always introduce student presenters as Mr/Ms Whatever. So I was faced with having to ask the student as to preferred pronouns. I want to get it right; I’m asexual, and know how it feels to have people think I don’t exist! The student said I should use Mr or Ms, whichever I was more comfortable with. Which I appreciate! But I’m still not sure what to do... Advice? Is there a gender-neutral equivalent of Mr/Ms? (I may be overthinking this, but I want to get it right!)

The gender-neutral equivalent is Mx. But do whatever makes the student comfortable.

knittinghistorian

That’s why I asked them, but either they really are fine with either, or they weren’t comfortable telling me...

Is Mx pronounced “Mix”?

Hi! Would it be possible to just introduce the students by their first and last names, instead? That way, you'd avoid using gender pronouns that might be incorrect or uncomfortable for the students. At that age, I didn't like adults addressing me with terms like "Ma'am" or "Miss.," or "Ms.," even though I identified as female because I only grew up hearing older adults called those things and it felt odd or a little weird to be called them when other adults and society still considered me to be young. It felt like I was suddenly being called "old." It also felt a little uncomfortable to me because was a tomboy, and those gendered terms for women felt a little too stereotypical, old-fashioned, or formal to me. I preferred others calling me by my name, instead.

I hope that helps.

Just Somebody
11 minutes ago, knittinghistorian said:

That’s why I asked them, but either they really are fine with either, or they weren’t comfortable telling me...

Is Mx pronounced “Mix”?