Young Ace Seeking Advice About Identity, Dating, & Anxieties

thirddegreegirl

thirddegreegirl

hi! i'm jess.

i wanna start off by saying that i'm still pretty new to my ace identity. i first came out to my family as pan/bisexual when i was a teen. i thought i really was pan because i felt equal levels of attraction towards boys and girls at the time. it was never sexual, but i didn't know what sexual attraction was supposed to feel like. i knew for sure i wasn't straight and didn't identify with other straight women. i was doing some more research into asexuality and i realized that i'm ace, romantic, and i have a sex drive (BIG point of confusion for me), but not much interest in sex as a whole. i haven't come out again as ace, except to a few friends, so my family doesn't know. i don't really feel like i NEED to tell them if only just to get them off my back about dating, which kinda leads to my main point.

i want to date. i recently moved out on my own for the first time, and, because i'm not under the constant watch of my parents, i feel free to do what i want. i've never been in a relationship before, and i always felt like my parents were watching my every move in terms of dating activities as a result, so generally avoided the whole thing. i also just find it's really rare for me to meet someone that i'm actually interested in romantically. i thought that there was something wrong with me because i didn't experience attraction the way you're "supposed to feel it" when you "just know". this came from all outside sources telling me that romantic attraction can't happen without sexual attraction, which was obviously not the case for me.