Esperanto

Esperanto  

26 members have voted

1. 1. Anyone on here speak Esperanto on any level? I'm learning it and it would be nice to know someone who does know it so I can practice using it with someone who like understands what I'm saying.

• Nope, sorry.
    • A little bit/I'm also learning it
    • I'm kinda fluent/I've practiced it for a while now
    • I'm a native speaker/I'm 100% fluent

I'm learning Esperanto and I just want to know if anyone else knows the language one some level. I'd like to speak with you, mostly for the sake of practicing the language, but also for the sake of getting to know more of my ace peoples out there.

RK800

One of four languages I know. ^_^
Saluton, mia amiko.

Just Me!

I started learning (so that I could claim fluent bilinguality)...but then I learned about Toki Pona...

2 hours ago, Retrobot said:

One of four languages I know. ^_^
Saluton, mia amiko.

Saluton, saluton. Mi dankas vin! :cake: 

2 hours ago, Just Me, Myself and I said:

I started learning (so that I could claim fluent bilinguality)...but then I learned about Toki Pona...

I've never heard of Toki Pona but please, tell me more. I'm a lil bit of a language nerd ;) 

Just Me!
42 minutes ago, FranciumSenpai said:

I've never heard of Toki Pona but please, tell me more. I'm a lil bit of a language nerd ;) 

It's an artificial language with about 120 words overall. They're all pretty basic (there are 9 consonants and 5 vowels), designed to be easy for someone from any native language to pronounce, and the idea is that they're the simple building blocks to make up compound words, et cetera, et cetera. It's even meant to exploit the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis to create a "zen-like state of being", apparently. https://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2015/07/toki-pona-smallest-language/398363/

Toki pona li toki pona.

I see. That seems simple yet complex. Mi dankas vin per la informo!

RK800
1 hour ago, FranciumSenpai said: