"Deep emotional bond" or...? (possibly TMI)

astlel

Hi! I'm new here, although I've been lurking for a while.

I identify as demi, but I'm not sure I totally fit the "requires an emotional bond" model. I do require something, but I'm not sure it's a deep emotional bond per se. More like I need to be totally at ease with my partner, which for me sometimes happens after several months, other times not at all. (If I try to have sex with someone before I'm comfortable with them, it's never pleasurable, and actually usually pretty painful). But, at the point when I can enjoy sex with someone, it doesn't feel like it's because I'm deeply in love with them or whatever-- it's just that I'm totally relaxed around them, not trying to impress them, etc. Does this resonate with anyone else? Or, like, are you supposed to experience a deep romantic connection to someone to be classically demi...?

Galactic Turtle

I'm not an expert on anything demi but remember demisexual refers to at what point you experience sexual attraction (if at all) and not when you physically have sex with someone (if at all). :) 

I know very few people who would have sex with someone they weren't comfortable with. Some jumped the gun with their own boyfriends and said the experience was terrible. Now that we're older, they're all much better at taking care of themselves, not giving into pressure to have sex, and knowing when they themselves are ready to have sex with a partner. 

Oh, yeah-- I should have specified that I haven't yet felt sexual attraction to anyone (only aesthetic attraction) :)

nerdperson777

Well the -sexual definition is experiencing the attraction or wanting to have sex with that type of person.  So you could be asexual by the first definition but demisexual by the second definition.