Is it worth it to try using asexual dating sites?

scarletlatitude

scarletlatitude

I know AVEN already has a list of asexual dating sites. But I'm wondering if it's worth it. 

I am incredibly busy. I work full time (and part time in the summers, as I am a teacher). I also have lots of side jobs in the district that I teach in (coach, etc). I have AVEN duties (yey admods). I am a full time PhD student. 

And besides all of that, I am an EXTREME introvert. I spend more time with my cats than with people. I mean, if my job didn't require me to leave the house, I wouldn't. I would only venture out for food. Not exaggerating at all. Obviously the "go out and meet people" approach isn't going to work for me, both because I don't want to and because I would never have that kind of time.

But alas, I am an asexual romantic. I want a cuddle buddy. I would consider myself maybe demi-romantic though, because I have to know someone REALLY well. 

So do you think it's worth it to pay for asexual dating sites? I've tried the regular dating sites... and we will just say that I'm not impressed. They are... not welcoming to aces, to say the least. (Not the websites necessarily, but the people who frequent them.) Would I be wasting money? 

The two most popular ones are Ace-Book, which is free, and Asexualitic, which is paid.  Most people on Asexualitic without a paid sub just list their LINE, KIK, or whatever accounts for people that are interested to message them.

That said, unless you're fine starting off with a LDR, the odds of finding someone in your area are very very small - so no don't pay.

If you live in a small country asexualistic might be OK? IME most people don't want to pay for it and put their emails in their profile. There was no way to narrow it down to say, people in California unless that person was proactive enough to join a group. I got one local friend request (from someone 10 years younger than me), all the others were English and Canadian.