Participants Requests for A Survey on Sexual Identity and the LGB Community.

Steph Ace

Hi there,

My name is Tamara Bejakovich and I am a student at Massey University, Palmerston North, New Zealand. I am currently studying toward a Doctorate in Clinical Psychology, with a research focus on sexual identity and psychological well-being.

What is your sexual identity? How did you figure that out?

All individuals form a sexual identity. For some this is a relatively straightforward process while for others it can be quite challenging. I am interested in how people come to understand their own sexual identity and I would like to learn more about how a straight and a non-straight sexual identity is related to psychological factors, such as life satisfaction and happiness. My research revolves around this, and could use your help to spread the word.

What’s the purpose?

My research aims to investigate how sexual identity and its development influence an individual’s general psychological well-being, through the use of an online survey. It will look into a number of factors, such as heterosexism, positive identities and acceptance.

Who can participate?

In an interest of increasing the application of the research, I am interested in having participants from all walks of life and all sexual identities. The greater the diversity, the better!

What would I appreciate from you?

This email is to advertise the online survey to as many different individuals as possible. I would be very grateful if you would be able to pass on the survey to anyone who may participate, such as colleagues, students, friends and family.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me on bejakovichresearch@gmail.com.

Additionally, I have included the web address for the survey, the Massey Survey page and the Facebook page, which will have access to the survey through a link on a Facebook status.