Are you happy with you current major/job?

TardisBlue

1. 1. Are you happy with your current major/job?

• Yes, it was what I wanted to study/do.
    • Yes, it wasn't what I wanted to study/do, but now I'm happy with it.
    • Neutral.
    • No, it was what I wanted to study/do, but now I'm not happy with it.
    • No, I never wanted it.

This poll is closed to new votes

So this 'what is your current major/job' poll gave me the idea for this topic. I wanted to elaborate it a bit further.

What I really wanna learn is, how many people who managed to get into the field they want, are happy now? And vice versa, who turned out to be happy with something they didn't want at first?

I'm studying engineering physics. Mind you, nobody forced me to study that, but it wasn't what I actually wanted, it definitely wasn't my first or even second choice. I wanna get my master's degree in aerospace (that was what I wanted btw), but what if it's not so magical at all? What if it won't make me happier? I'm kinda scared of that. Because I wanted it for so long, now my expectations are way too high.

What are your experiences?

My job sucks but it is allowing me the funds to pursue a job that won't suck. Too bad my degree is pointless.

I'm studying biology. It's what I've always wanted to study and there's nothing I'd rather do.

If I have to raise a complaint, It would be that it's far too interesting and it's a crying shame that I can't cover more material. One life-time isn't enough ( ^ ^; )

I majored in civil engineering and I've been fortunate to end up in the exact kind of job that I wanted - working on habitat rehabilitation/restoration projects. The pay's good (still getting used to it after coming from a poor background), it's low stress and flexible, I get a fair amount of chances to travel, and I have very good supervisors and coworkers.

The only issue really is that I feel like I'm cleaning up humanity's mess instead of tackling the problem head on.

drjohnhwatson