Asexuality Induced by Emotional Trauma Version 2.0

ShamelessGit

This thread has been split off from an older thread to keep the discussion going and relevant. The original post was as follows:

Assuming it is possible to become asexual, do you think it is possible that perhaps some people have become asexual as the result of emotional trauma?

For instance, perhaps the emotional trauma of being sexually abused at a young age could result in one becoming asexual?

Thank you,
Heart
Asexual Q&A Moderator

I've had a lot of unpleasant experiences with women. I've had so many that I don't even want to look at or talk to them anymore. I get horny sometimes, but whenever I see an actual woman, even if I can see she's attractive, my first impulse is to run away. It takes me a long time to trust anyone, so a few times when I tried to have sex in the past, I had trouble getting an erection. Instead of having performance anxiety, I wondered if she'd change her mind the next morning and call me a rapist, or if she'd try to use my feelings to blackmail me, or if I'd grow to like her and then she'd leave for ever. I haven't even tried to have sex for 2 years, even though I definitely wasn't born asexual.

Edited by Heart

Speaking about mysef, for a long time I thought my asexuality was caused by things that happened in the past. And also me being bi. But I came to the conclusion it isn't.

I looked back and I was never interested in the bf/gf thing, never. I had a 'cyberrelation' with a guy just to fit in. I wondered for years about some things people were joking about and I never understood until now, now I'm 22 years old. They were sexual jokes but I never got them cause sex or dirtyness just didn't pop in my mind. Also I now understand what the song u + ur hand means from pink lol I just don't think in any sexual way, I really need to make an effort to think that way and rather prefer not actually. But I'm aware that I'm repulsed of genetalia as well…